Santa Fe, NM – New Mexico State Parks officials remind the public that the current Public Health Order is mandatory and is being enforced statewide. Based on the current health order, anyone coming to New Mexico from out of state is required to self-quarantine for 14 days upon arrival to the state. In addition, wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or exercising, or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could face citations and $100 fines for not complying voluntarily. State Parks officials urge the public to “know before you go” and visit www.nmparks.com for more information.
This holiday weekend New Mexico State Police are supporting State Parks law enforcement staff at several of the larger parks including Elephant Butte, Navajo Lake, Ute Lake, and Eagle Nest.
The Attorney General has directed that law enforcement must enforce mask/face covering requirements in outdoor public areas, including but not limited to public parks, streets, sidewalks, lines for entry, exit or service, and recreation areas, when a distance of at least six feet cannot be maintained from any non-household members. In State Parks, these areas include, but are not limited to:
- Marinas and boat ramps;
- Restroom areas; and
- Fee collection areas.
Pursuant to the public health order, visitors from out of state must complete the 14-day self-quarantine period before visiting a State Park.
“It is critical that visitors comply with the most recent Public Health Order, particularly this holiday weekend,” said State Park Director, Christy Tafoya. “This order is intended to protect our visitors and residents during this public health crisis and it is being enforced.”
State Parks are open for day-use only. Some parks have capacity limits and restrictions and it is critical for visitors to know the latest information prior to heading to a State Park.
All current park information can be found on park webpages and on the FAQ page at www.nmparks.com.