VSO’s to Offer Assistance by Phone, Email, or Videoconference

(SANTA FE)— Effective March 24, all field offices of the New Mexico Department of Veterans Services (DVS) will temporarily postpone in-person office visits by veterans–and will instead provide veterans’ benefits assistance via telephone, video conference, or e-mail. All previously-scheduled in-office visits will be rescheduled.

The move is to comply with Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham’s statewide directive this afternoon directing state agencies to further help minimize the spread of the COVID-19/Novel Coronavirus.

Veterans or widows of veterans can work with DVS Veterans Service Officers (VSO’s) by:

  • Leaving a message on a VSO’s “work” phone number.
    • VSO’s regularly check their office phones for messages.
  • Contacting a VSO on his/her mobile phone Via e-mail                                      
  • Via video conferencing.

Below is the contact information for DVS VSO’s. Assistance will be provided on a first-call, first-served basis. Livestream video conferencing can be arraged by contacting the VSO.

Alamogordo (VSO: Larry Weatherwax) 
Office: (575) 437-4635
Mobile: (575) 491-3127
Larry.weatherwax@state.nm.us

Albuquerque #1 (Karen Abeyta) 
Office: (505) 346-3986
Mobile: (505 429-0856
Karen.abeyta@state.nm.us

Albuquerque #2 (Gordon Schei) 
Office: (505) 346-4810
Mobile: (same as office number)
gordon.schei@state.nm.us

Carlsbad (Dagmar Youngberg)
Office: (575) 885-4939
Mobile: (505) 988-5900
Dagmar.youngberg@state.nm.us

Clovis (Matt Barela)
Office: (575) 762-6185
Mobile: (575) 825-9602
matthew.barela@state.nm.us

Farmington (Beverly Charley)
Office: (505) 327-2861
Mobile: (same as office number)
Beverly.charley@state.nm.us

Hobbs (Dalton Boyd)
Office: (575) 397-5290
Mobile: (575) 241-0714
Dalton.boyd2@state.nm.us

Las Cruces #1 (George Vargas) 
Office: (575) 524-6124 
Mobile: (575) 520-2634
George.vargas@state.nm.us

Las Cruces #2 (Rosa Bycenski)
Office: (575) 524-6220
Mobile: (575) 870-1349
Rosa.bycenski@state.nm.us

Las Cruces #3 (Craig Chumley)
Office: (575) 524-6220 or 6124
Mobile: (same as office number)
Craig.chumley@state.nm.us

Las Vegas, NM (Martìn Màrquez) 
Office: (505) 454-0068
Mobile: (575) 520-5079
martinM.marquez@state.nm.us

Roswell (Danielle Thompson)
Office: (575) 624-6086
Mobile: (575) 416-2284
Danielle.thompson@state.nm.us

Ft. Stanton & Gallup StateVeterans Cemeteries
Committal/funeral memorial services and the rendering of military funeral honors–whether by active military personnel or volunteer organizations–are also temporarily postponed until further notice at the DVS-managed Ft Stanton and Gallup State Veterans Cemeteries. 

In compliance with the Governor’s public health order this afternoon, Immediate family gatherings will be limited to five individuals at interments. Cemetery staff will work with families to schedule a full/”normal” committal or memorial service at a later date.

For more information at the cemeteries:

Ft. Stanton State Veterans Cemetery
David Flores/Supervisor
(505) 383-4381
David.flores@state.nm.us

Gallup State Veterans Cemetery
Gilbert Lopez/Supervisor
(575) 905-9771
Gilbert.lopez@state.nm.us